

TOWN OF COCHRANE

Bylaw 19/2020

Being a Bylaw of the Town of Cochrane, in the Province of Alberta to amend Tax Penalty Bylaw 08/2008 to provide provision for penalties with respect to non-payment or late payment of taxes in 2020.

- WHEREAS: Pursuant to the *Municipal Government Act*, RSA 2000 c. M-26, a Municipal Council may pass Bylaws to impose penalties for nonpayment and late payment of taxes within the Municipality;
- AND WHEREAS: the Council deems it desirable to amend Tax Penalty Bylaw 08/2008 for the 2020 taxes only;
- NOW THEREFORE: the Municipal Council of the Town of Cochrane, in the province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby enacts as follows:

Amend Tax Penalty Bylaw 08/2008 with the following:

Add Subsection 3.1 directly after the following:

3. PENALTIES ON UNPAID TAXES

Annual property tax levies are due June 30. Current taxes that remain outstanding after June 30 shall have penalties imposed on taxes outstanding:

- a) A penalty equal to 7.0% of the amount of current tax outstanding on July 01; and
- b) A penalty equal to 8.0% on the amount of current tax outstanding on October 01.

Section 3.1 shall read:

3.1 Penalties on unpaid taxes shall be applied as follows on 2020 taxes only:

The 2020 property tax levies are due September 30, 2020. Current taxes that remain outstanding after September 30, 2020 shall have penalties imposed on taxes outstanding:

A penalty equal to 8.0% of the amount of current tax outstanding to be applied on October 5, 2020.

Thereafter, Section 3 shall remain unaltered.

This Bylaw amendment shall come into full force and effect upon third and final reading and shall expire on December 31, 2020.

Read a First Time June 08, 2020

Read a Second Time June 08, 2020

Unanimous Consent June 08, 2020

Read a Third Time June 08, 2020

avor

Manager, Legislative Services