Members of Cochrane Fire Services awarded federal and provincial service medal


(Cochrane, AB) - Cochrane Fire Services celebrates members for receiving both the provincially recognized Alberta Emergency Services Medal (AESM) and Bronze Bar Rosette, as well as the federally recognized Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal.

To help honour the important milestones, the Honourable Minister of Infrastructure Pete Guthrie, Federal MP Blake Richards, and Cochrane Mayor Jeff Genung were in attendance to present the medals and share their gratitude to the recipients.

“It is important we stop and celebrate important milestones and I am proud to commemorate the impressive tenure of 13 members of Fire Services," said Mayor Jeff Genung. "Nearly one-third of the Fire Services team have been honoured this year with medals in recognition of their years of service, which shows exceptional commitment to both the organization and our community."

This year, Cochrane recognizes the following recipients of the AESM and Bronze Bar Rosette:

12-Year Medal

  • Brad Hoey, First Class Firefighter
  • Eric Paxman, Third Class Firefighter
  • Jason Hamel, First Class Firefighter
  • Kevin Demeter, First Class Firefighter
  • Matthew Cameron, Second Class Firefighter

22-Year Bronze Bar

  • Grant MacKinnon, Captain, Fire Services
  • Leanne Hall, Senior Firefighter (retired)
  • Jory Jenson, Captain
  • Shelley Shelstad Jenson, Senior Firefighter

32-Year Silver Bar

  • Rob Olenick, Lieutenant

The Alberta Emergency Services Medal honours emergency services personnel who are involved in supporting response, prevention and preparedness in Alberta and have committed to over 12 years of service. Recipients of the medal are also nominated to receive a subsequent bar at 22 (bronze), 32 (silver) and 40 years (gold) of service. Eligible recipients must have been serving on or after January 1, 2000, in a sector of the Alberta emergency management system.

Cochrane also recognizes the following recipients of the Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal:

20 years of Exemplary Service

  • Russ Innes, Lieutenant
  • Jay Wieliczko, Captain

10 Year additional Exemplary Service

  • Harold Phillips, Senior Firefighter

“It is such an honour to work alongside such a dedicated group of individuals who are committed to serving our community,” said Shawn Polley, Fire Chief, Town of Cochrane. “I would like to personally congratulate everyone for their incredible accomplishment and remarkable years of service.”

The Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal, honours members of a recognized Canadian fire service who have completed 20 years of service, ten years of which have been served in the performance of duties involving potential risks and were employed on or after the date of creation of the Medal. Recognized fire services include Canadian fire departments, fire marshals’ offices, fire commissioners’ offices and the Canadian Forces fire services. Exemplary service is characterized by good conduct, industry and efficiency.

For more information, visit: 

Alberta Emergency Services Medal |

Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal | The Governor General of Canada (